Welcome to Our School

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan's Public School, Ramachandrapuram (BVBPS BHEL-Ramachandrapuram) is a co-educational school located in the picturesque and beautiful township of BHEL-Hyderabad, a suburb of Hyderabad in southern Indian state of Andhra Pradesh. It is run by the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, instituted by K. M. Munshi in the 1930s to educate children in Indian culture and traditions. BVBPS was started in RC Puram on 18th July 1977 on the request of the BHEL Management to serve the educational needs of the children of the BHEL employees and of the neighbourhood . When the school opened, its strength was 475. The school?s student population has grown to 2410 students in 2007-08 with students from Nursery (pre-school) to Standard X. The students are organized in ?Houses?, namely Dhruva, Prahlad, Abhimanyu, Arjun, Ashwathama, Karna, Markandeya, Vasishta. Teachers are assigned to each house as wardens.

One of the best features of the school is that emphasis is put not only on studies, but on the all-round development of the Bhavanite student. Students are encouraged to participate in sports, literary and cultural activities. In fact, students are required to take up extra-curricular activities, which range from painting to carpentry. Competitions are organized intra-school in the fields of arts and sports, with each house competing against the other in a spirited manner. Our school is an active participant in inter-school competitions in the region. Not a day goes by when a student of our school is not recognized for laurels won in regional competitions.

The school, affiliated to the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) has an outstanding record in academics as measured by any metric - including graduation rates and ranks at the national level. As of 2007-08 academic year, 26 batches have graduated 10th standard exams conducted by CBSE. This is a reflection of our excellent and devoted teachers as well as the innate abilities of our students.The school also has developed long-running traditions. The ones that we are most proud of are our annual sports day, and an annual house function which include culturals such as dramatics, dance, music, and other arts. The school has also strived to give its students exposure in handling real life situations - an example of which is the annual Diwali Mela where Bhavanites own a small business for a single day where they get their first experience with entrepreneurship.

Not surprisingly, graduates of our school have gone on to make a name for themselves and for their alma mater in the fields of their choice. The school has created a unique environment for sports to thrive - the school boasts dedicated grounds or soccer (football), hockey, cricket, volleyball, and basketball. This is largely due to the visionary management of BHEL, which has accommodated our school in its campus by allocating 10 acres to it, and our founders who planned for a day when expansion would be necessary.

Message from Principal

Bhavan's BHEL RC Puram is a place where ideas count. Our school combines the best features of Bhavan's education with the cosmopolitan environment that is unique to the self-contained township of BHEL Ramachandrapuram.

Our location and affiliated with BHEL not only provides us with our own facilities, which are extremely impressive, but also gives us with access to BHEL's own formidable facilities which include a first-rate library and stadium infrastructure.

Ours is a school where every teacher knows the Bhavanite student, not just in the classroom context, but also about each student's ideas and aspirations.Every student is taught to be good in their life and career. That is the Bhavan's motto - Let noble thoughts come to us from every side.

I invite you to visit this remarkable community of ours at the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan's Public School in BHEL Ramachandrapuram- where both people and ideas matter.

Ram Hanuman, Principal

Roll of Honour Past principals

Shri H C Katyal Principal 23-05-1977 to 08-05-1981
Shri G S Negi Principal 20-06-1981 to 09-08-1984
Shri S Ramachandran Principal 09-08-1984 to 05-02-1985
Shri V G Purushotham Principal 06-02-1985 to 25-08-1986
Late Shri P V Krishnayya Principal 26-08-1986 to 31-08-1996
Shri V Adinarayana Principal 01-09-1996 to 31-07-2007
Shri P Rama Hanuman Principal 03-08-2007 to Present
Our Staff Photos